1. Google
  2. YouTube
  3. Add or remove access to your YouTube channel

Add or remove access to your YouTube channel

If you have a brand account, you can now use channel permissions to add or remove access to your YouTube channel instead. Note that Brand Accounts using channel permissions, including owners, temporarily can’t use the Live Control Room. Learn more.

You can have multiple people manage your channel without giving them access to your Google Account. Inviting someone to manage your channel:

  • is safer than sharing your password.
  • lets you give only the amount of access they need.
  • is less confusing by making the user comment or view videos on YouTube with their own channel.

To add access: 

  1. Go to studio.youtube.com
  2. On the left-hand side, click Settings.
  3. Click Permissions.
  4. Click Invite and enter the email address of the person who you’d like to invite. 
  5. Click Access and select the role that you’d like to assign to this person:
RoleSupportedNot supported
OwnerCan do everything on all platforms, including: 
Delete the channel
Manage permissions
Can’t transfer ownership to other users
ManagerCan view all channel data Can manage permissions
Can edit channel details
Can create, upload, publish and delete content (includes drafts)
Can’t delete the channel
EditorCan view all channel data
Can edit everything
Can upload and publish content
Can delete drafts
Can’t delete channel or published content
Can’t manage permissions
Can’t enter into contracts
Editor (limited)Same permissions as EditorCan’t delete channel or published content
Can’t manage permissions
Can’t enter into contractsCan’t access revenue data (includes chat revenue and viewer activity tab)
ViewerCan view (but not edit) all channel details
Can create and edit YouTube Analytics groups
Can view revenue data (includes chat revenue and Viewer activity tab)
 
Viewer (limited)Same permissions as ViewerCan’t access revenue data (includes chat revenue and viewer activity tab)
  1. Click Save

To remove or change access:

  1. Go to studio.youtube.com.
  2. On the left-hand side, click Settings.
  3. Click Permissions.
  4. Go to the person that you’d like to remove and click the down arrow.
  5. Select a new role or click Remove access.

Note: Channel permissions don’t support some parts of Studio just yet. Even though the owner can access these features, invited users can’t access:

  • Features that aren’t built into Studio, like Community post creation.
  • Parts of Studio Mobile, like commenting and playlist editing.
  • YouTube.com, YouTube Music, YouTube Kids app or YouTube APIs.

We plan on supporting these in the future.

To find the channel owner’s name and email:

If you manage a channel, you can find out the channel owner’s name and email address. You may need this information, for example, to ask them to verify a phone number for their channel to get access to certain features.

Note: Only managers and the owner can see the names and email addresses of people that have access to a channel.

  1. Go to studio.youtube.com.
  2. Click Settings and then Permissions.
  3. You’ll see the names and email addresses of everyone that has access to this channel. Make note of the owner’s info.
6
Search
Generic filters
Share Article

Related Articles

Tools + Resources

Social Media Image Sizes

Freelance Hourly Rate Calculator

Need Support?

Website Maintenance and Support

Your website security is important to us! We run frequent security checks and regularly update software to guarantee the integrity of your site continues to stay reliable and intact.

Support You Can Count On

Menu